NOTIFICATION: The Technology Channels is now an automated compilation of industry press releases.
Click here to download complimentary copies of Fastmarkets RISI’s pulp and paper newsletters.


Mayr-Melnhof Karton's Foodboard wins PPI Award for fiber-based packaging innovation

Read so far

Mayr-Melnhof Karton's Foodboard wins PPI Award for fiber-based packaging innovation

December 01, 2016 - 22:24

VIENNA, Austria, Dec. 1, 2016 (Press Release) -As "The Fiber Based Packaging Innovation 2016" FOODBOARD from MM Karton was awarded at this year´s prestigious PPI Awards. The jury of experts thus honors our breakthrough innovation for safe and sustainable food packaging.

FOODBOARD represents a milestone for the cartonboard industry: an environmentally friendly cartonboard with completely new features which opens up packaging applications we could have never thought of before in the paper-based packaging world. The core component is an innovative barrier on the food contact side of the board which offers protection against the migration of defined unintended substances into the food. In addition, FOODBOARD delivers impressive results with slightly grease resistant attributes, keeps certain packed products fresh and crispy for longer and also protects against organoleptic influences. Franz Rappold, Member of the Board: "The award proofs the solution competence of Mayr-Melnhof Karton as well as our ongoing efforts to increase the value for our customers. However, the best reward for all of us is to actively sell FOODBOARD, thus comprehensively providing the market with our food safety solution and ensuring permanent high consumer confidence." The official award ceremony took place on 21st November 2016 in Brussels.

Since 2009, RISI, the leading information provider to the global pulp and paper industry, has been celebrating excellent achievements of companies and individuals with the PPI Awards. The widely noticed award has become the world's most important prize in this sector. The submissions were judged by an independent panel of jury members, such as Rod Young and Esko Uutela (RISI), Richard Donovan (Rainforest Alliance), Nicholas Mockett (Morgan Capital), John Pollard (Unilever), Adam Bushong (Dell ), as well as other experts from a wide range of fields.