PPI Awards 2010: The Finalists

Read so far

PPI Awards 2010: The Finalists

September 26, 2010 - 16:00

BRUSSELS, Sept. 27, 2010 (RISI) -Last year's launch of the very first PPI Awards struck a chord right at the heart of the industry. This year we have not only had many more entries, but they have also come from literally all over the globe, Asia, Africa, Europe, Latin America, the Middle East and the US.

But this is not just about quantity and variety; the quality of the 2010 entries has been superb, and I know for a fact as chairman of the panel of judges that competition has been fierce, and the PPI Awards has truly become a "must win" event in the global industry. In actual fact, just getting on to the finalists' list must be seen as an honor in itself.

A special thanks must be extended to those companies and individuals that have entered the 2010 Awards, as well as to the hard working panel of judges who have really had a difficult job to do in choosing the finalists. The winners will be presented with their awards at The PPI Awards 2010 ceremony to be held on Tuesday, November 16, at Le Plaza Hotel, Brussels, Belgium.

Alongside the awards ceremony, which this year is being held in conjunction with the CEPI European Paper Week, RISI will also be holding a half-day seminar, which includes some key industry speakers, including RISI's own chief economic advisor Rod Young who will be presenting on: "What Does the Future Hold for the Global Pulp & Paper Sector". Also speaking will be Glenn O'Kelly, specialist from McKinsey & Company who will be presenting on "Key Trends in Global Pulp and Recycled Paper Markets" and Marco Mensik, energy and environmental director at CEPI will be addressing climate change issues affecting the industry. Please visit thePPI Awards 2010 website, to book tickets for both the awards and the seminar.

The list of finalists for the PPI Awards 2010 is as follows:


Promotional Campaign of the Year - Sponsored by HP and ColorLok

  • Finch Paper - Finch is in the House!
  • Grupo Portucel Soporcel - Navigator iPhone Promotion
  • Mondi Uncoated Fine Paper - Green Range
  • Neenah Paper - Do You Love Linen?
  • Papelera Nacional (Ecuador) - Banana Box Campaign
  • SCA Containerboard - SCA Presentation Liners
  • SCA Packaging - Design Challenge
  • Södra Cell - PulpLabs

Environmental Strategy of the Year - Sponsored by Metso

  • Cascades Tissue Group, USA
  • Celulose Irani, Brazil
  • ITC, India
  • JK Paper, India
  • Mondi Group, Austria
  • Suzano Papel e Celulose, Brazil

The Green Energy and Biofuels Award - Sponsored by Andritz

  • Celuosa Arauco y Constitución (ARAUCO), Chile
  • Grupo Portucel Soporcel, Portugal
  • Klingele Papierwerke, Germany
  • Kruger Products, Canada
  • Pratt Industries, USA

Innovative Product of the Year - Sponsored by BTG

  • Arjowiggins Graphic - Cocoon
  • Cascades Tissue Group - The intelligentTMantibacterial paper hand towel
  • Neenah Paper - Think Ink: Color Unleashed Website
  • Packages - Base Art Paper & Stiffener
  • Propal - REPROGRAF Copy Paper
  • Strathcona Paper - GreenChoice 100
  • Sappi - Triple Green text
  • Ziegler Papier - Z-Evolution

Managing Risk and Safety - Company of the Year - Sponsored by FM Global

  • Ahlstrom
  • Eska Graphic Board
  • Finch Paper
  • Klingele Papierwerke
  • Longview Fibre Paper and Packaging

Business Strategy of the Year

  • Celuosa Arauco y Constitución (ARAUCO), Chile
  • Domtar, Canada
  • Empresas CMPC, Chile
  • Södra Cell, Sweden
  • Suzano Papel e Celulose, Brazil


Global CEO of the Year - Sponsored by StepChange Consulting

  • Antonio Maciel Neto, CEO, Suzano
  • Gary McGann, CEO, Smurfit Kappa
  • John D. Williams, President and CEO, Domtar
  • Jouko Karvinen, CEO, Stora Enso
  • Li Hongxin, Chairman, Shandong Sun Paper

Mill Manager of the Year - Sponsored by ABB

  • Dennis Askew, Domtar, Plymouth Mill, USA
  • I.N. Guha, BILT Graphic Paper Products (Ballarpur), Bhigwan Unit, India
  • Luis Henao, Pratt Industries, Shreveport Mill, USA
  • Jonathan Hermanus, Sappi Cape Kraft Mill, South Africa
  • Maciej Kunda, Mondi Swiecie Mill, Poland
  • Randy Nebel, Longview Fibre Paper and Packaging, USA

Research Achievement of the Year - Sponsored by HP and ColorLok

  • Kari Edelmann and Jussi Manninen, VTT
  • Naila Yaqoob, Lahore College for Women University
  • Andreas Kornherr, Mondi Uncoated Fine & Kraft Paper


The Water Efficiency Award - Sponsored by Kemira

  • ArjoWiggins Graphic, Dalum Papir, Denmark
  • Bio-PAPPEL International, Prewitt Mill (formerly McKinley Paper), USA
  • Cascades Fine Papers Group, Breakey Fibre Unit, Canada
  • Holmen Paper Madrid, Spain
  • Lwarcel Celulose, Lencois Paulista Mill, Brazil

Environmental Strategy of the Year - Sponsored by Cargill

  • Holmen Paper Madrid, Spain
  • Mondi SCP, Ruzomberok, Slovakia
  • Smurfit Kappa Kraftliner, Piteå Mill, Sweden
  • Södra Cell, Värö Mill, Sweden
  • Strathcona Paper, Napanee, Ontario, Canada

Efficiency Improvements of the Year

  • BILT Graphic Paper Products (Ballarpur), Bhigwan Unit, India
  • Domtar, Kingsport Mill, Tennessee, USA
  • Klabin, Monte Alegre Mill, Brazil
  • Middle East Paper Company - (MEPCO) - Jeddah Mill, Saudi Arabia
  • Mondi, Syktyvkar Mill, Russia

The list is available online at:http://www.ppiawards.com/